CEO and Board

Penny Egan B.BUS(Acc), FCPA, GAICD Chief Executive Officer

Penny was appointed CEO in May 2013.

Before joining Cancer Council Tasmania, Penny was the Chief Financial Officer of the Department of Health and Human Services and Forestry Tasmania and has more than 20 years’ experience in business.  Penny has a Bachelor of Business degree, and is a Life Member and Fellow of CPA Australia and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Sandra French

Ald Sandra French AM, President

Board Director since May 2002

Sandra has had a continued involvement with the School of Special Education  as President of the School Association and Multicap Tasmania Inc. as President of the Board showing her affinity with the organisations for people with disabilities.  In 1985, Sandra became the third ever woman elected to the Burnie City Council, and the first female Mayor elected by popular vote in 1991 until 1996.

Sandra was inducted into the Tasmanian Honour Roll of Women in 2009 for her service to the community and in 2011 Sandra received an Order of Australia Award  as a Member of the Order, an AM.  Sandra is presently Deputy Mayor for the Burnie City Council.

Allyson Warrington BBus, FAMI, CPM, FAICD - Vice President

Board Director since September 2011

Allyson is CEO of General Practice Training Tasmania and was previously the General Manager Tasmania of CPA Australia.  She is a Primary Health Tasmania Board Director and a Board Member of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia.

Allyson’s former non-executive director roles include Director of the Tasmanian Polytechnic, President of the Australian Marketing Institute (Tas) and Public Relations Institute of Australia (Tas).  She holds a Bachelor of Business (Marketing and International Business) and Company Directors Course Diploma.  She is a Certified Practising Marketer, Fellow of the Australian Marketing Institute and Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

David Bowker BSc MComm GAICD - Treasurer

Board Director since September 2011, Chair – Finance Audit and Risk Committee

David has an Engineering degree from the UK and a Master of Commerce degree from Capetown University.  He has worked for Caltex and de Beers in several countries prior to joining Hydro Tasmania in 1991.  During his time at Hydro Tasmania he was the inaugural winner of the Sir Allan Knight Scholarship which allowed him to study energy markets in the UK.  He has had roles within Hydro Tasmania in information technology, corporate strategy and energy policy areas.

David was the deputy chairman of the board of the National Generators Forum for 6 years, an industry association of electricity generators across Australia. This forum has now merged with another industry body. His particular interests lie in strategy and governance.

Scott Adams B.Com, CPA, MBA, GAICD

Board Director since September 2011

Scott Adams is Group Manager, Corporate Services for Tasmanian Health Organisation – South.  Scott is responsible for overseeing the full range of corporate services including finance, human resources, environmental and food services, logistics, engineering and facilities management.

Prior to this, Scott was CEO of an IT consultancy company and was associated in various capacities with Aurora Energy.  His roles at Aurora included Business Manager, Retail and Customer Services Manager.  Additionally he oversaw the requirements preparation, evaluation and selection of the Aurora CIS (billing system) replacement, the largest IT project ever undertaken by Aurora Energy.  Scott is former Chairman of Lady Gowrie Tasmania, the state’s largest not-for-profit child care provider.


Harvey Cuthill OAM Ph.C. M.P.S MAICD

Board Director since 1997

Harvey has worked in the area of community pharmacy since graduating from the University of Tasmania in the late 1960’s.  He is a life member of the Pharmacy Guild of Australia, and served as a national councilor and vice-president of the Guild’s Tasmanian branch.

In 2009, Harvey received an Order of Australia medal for service to pharmacy through the Pharmacy Guild of Australia, and to the community of Launceston through service, health and sporting organisations.

Harvey was Chairman of CCT from 2003 – 2006.

Stephen Foster CFP, Dip Financial Planning

Board Director since August 2000

Stephen has extensive experience in the financial industry, having worked in a senior position with the Tasmanian Government in the Treasury Department, and as a Financial Consultant in the Health Department.

Stephen is a member of the Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA), is a certified financial planner and partner at SM Financial who have offices in Tasmania and Victoria.  Stephen has also worked as a diagnostic radiographer and ambulance officer.

Stephen was also Chairman of CCT from 2006-2009.

Seana Gall BSc(Hons) PhD

Board Director since June 2012

Seana has been a research fellow in epidemiology at the Menzies Research Institute Tasmania since 2006. She completed her undergraduate training at Monash University and received her PhD from the University of Melbourne. Seana is committed the promotion of public health, particularly in relation to tobacco control. She has worked with the Tasmanian Government on smoking policy development and implementation, served on the board of Quit Tasmania since 2008 and is an active member of the Tasmanian Branch of the Public Health Association of Australia.

Seana had the honour of being named one of the Australian Institute of Policy and Science’s Tall Poppies in 2009, and has also received awards from the Menzies Research Institute and the University of Tasmania recognising her research excellence.


Andrew Paul FAICD

Board Director since September 2014

Andrew has been the General Manager of Clarence City Council since 2003, previously having been the Chief Executive Officer of the City of Greater Bendigo.

Andrew has qualifications in Applied Science, Management and is a graduate of the Williamson Community Leadership Program.

Previously, Andrew has served as a Board Member of St Luke’s Anglicare (Vic), Anglicare Tasmania and St Michael’s Collegiate School (Deputy Chair).

Andrew is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

A/Prof Dr. Rosemary Harrup FRACP FRCPA

Board Director since May 2015

After graduating from the University of Melbourne, Clinical Associate Professor Rosemary Harrup trained at the Launceston General Hospital, Austin and Repatriation Hospital and the Royal Hobart Hospital in both Medical Oncology and Clinical Haematology, completing a dual Fellowship in 2001.

She is a fulltime cancer clinician and currently Head of Department (Medical Oncology/Haematology) at the Royal Hobart Hospital, convenor of the Cancer Clinical Advisory Group for the THS and the current Chair of the Medical Oncology Group of Australia.  She has a strong interest in clinical research particularly in the area of Cancer Clinical Trials.

Rosemary is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.  and was previously a member of the TCC Scientific Advisory Group for over 10 years before joining the Cancer Council Tasmania Board early in 2015.